Home Cartoonist Court order to seize the properties of Tasneem Khalil, 3 others

Court order to seize the properties of Tasneem Khalil, 3 others



Yesterday, a Dhaka court ordered law enforcement to seize the movable and immovable property of four fugitive defendants – including journalist Tasneem Khalil and Zulkarnain Saer Khan alias Sami – by November 8 in a law case on digital security (DSA).

Dhaka Cyber ​​Tribunal judge Mohammad Ash Sams Joglul Hossain adopted the order, asking officials at four police stations to seize the properties following a prosecution petition.

The police stations that have been tasked with implementing the order are the Cantonment Police Station in Dhaka, Bishwanath Police Station in Sylhet, and Chandpur and Chhatkhil Police Stations in Noakhali.

The other two fugitives are Ashiq Imran and Shapan Wahed.

Earlier on September 12, the court accepted the indictment filed by the Agency for the Investigation of Terrorism and Transnational Crimes (CTTC) against seven defendants in the case.

The accused are – Sami, Tasneem Khalil, cartoonist Ahmed Kabir Kishore, Rashtrachinta coordinator Didarul Bhuiyan, former Dhaka Minhaj Mannan stock exchange director, Ashik Imran and Swapan Wahid.

Among them, Ahmed Kabir Kishore, Didarul Bhuiyan and Minhaj Mannan are currently free on bail.

The investigative agency removed the names of four defendants from the indictment.

They are writer Mushtak Ahmed, American journalist Sahed Alam, blogger Asif Mohiuddin and Philip Shumakher.

On June 13, police filed the indictment in the case.

Sub-Inspector (SI) Afsar Ahmed of the CTTC had filed the indictment with the Dhaka Metropolitan Court of First Instance.

Bangladesh Cyber ​​Tribunal judge Ash Shams Jaglul Hossain ordered the CTTC unit on February 10 to continue investigating the case.

The court issued the order, allowing a plea for the prosecution to investigate the case further.

On February 9, the prosecution filed a naraji (confidence censorship) motion against the indictment for dropping the names of eight defendants, including Sami.

Earlier on January 13, police filed an indictment against cartoonist Ahmed Kabir Kishore, Rashtrachinta coordinator Didarul Bhuiyan and writer Mushtak Ahmed.

The police, however, excluded the names of eight defendants Minhaj Mannan, Tasnim Khalil, Sahed Alam, Asif Mohiuddin, Sami, Ashik Imran, Swapan Wahid and Philip Shumakher from the indictment.

The investigator pleaded for their acquittal, saying the allegations against them were not proven.

RAB filed a lawsuit against 11 people in the first week of May 2020, for spreading anti-state lies to tarnish Bangladesh’s image and confuse people from a Facebook page.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here