Home Cartoonist Hobart cartoonist wins national award

Hobart cartoonist wins national award


September 23—Hobart resident Scott Jensen recently received an award from the National Cartoonists Society for his work on greeting cards.

Jensen has been designing greeting cards for Oatmeal Studios for over 35 years. He said he mostly draws birthday cards.

“I’ve always been up for doing many forms of cartoons, but greeting cards are the area I’ve enjoyed the most, so I’m happy with that,” he said in an email. mail. “I love the two-part form of a greeting card gag – the placement on the outside of the card, then the punchline on the inside.”

In addition to creating greeting cards, he draws and writes “Digby’s Hardware”, a comic strip in The Hardware Connection, a trade magazine for hardware retailers.

“It’s fun too. There are four panels, so it’s a different way to play the joke,” he said. “I appreciate everything.”

Jensen is director of visual communications at Cazenovia College. “I teach a range of design classes, as well as a cartooning class,” he said. “It’s a long drive, but I appreciate the energy of the students, and I think being with them makes my own job better and more fun.”

Jensen said he got his start when he was 14, drawing a weekly editorial cartoon for the Deposit Courier. He then attended Delaware Academy and Delhi’s Central School District, and drew editorial cartoons for the Delaware County Times throughout high school and college, he said. He studied communications, art, and photography at Lycoming College in Williamsport, Pennsylvania, and later earned an MFA in advertising design from Syracuse University.

Jensen received the National Cartoonists Society’s Best Greeting Card Award at the annual convention in Kansas City, Missouri on Sept. 15-16, according to a press release. He received his award from presenter Hilary Price, the designer behind Rhymes With Orange.

Jensen said he has been participating in the competition since he joined the company in 2010 and said he was a finalist last year and decided to submit his works again this year. “I considered the mere nomination a major achievement,” he said. “I never seriously thought that I could actually win. When they called my name, I was surprised, excited, nervous and grateful. The moment I walked on stage, I felt intimidated and humbled to be honored by my peers in front of so many legendary cartoonists I grew up admiring.”

During the awards ceremony, Edward Sorel received the Reuben Award for Outstanding Cartoonist of the Year and special awards were presented to Jeanne Schulz, widow of Charles Schulz; Mort Gerberg, magazine designer; Gary Trudeau, creator of Doonesbury; and Patrick McDonnell, creator of Mutts, according to the statement.

Vicky Klukkert, editor, can be reached at [email protected] or 607-441-7221.

Vicky Klukkert, editor, can be reached at [email protected] or 607-441-7221.